Seuraa blogiani Bloglovinin avulla Follow

Total views on my most magnificent blog

torstai 2. huhtikuuta 2015

The History of the Spanish-Speaking World

There are 20 sovereign states + Puerto Rico where Spanish is the official language. I have written interesting facts and stories about every Spanish speaking country in the world. Here are links to these previous writings.

Total: 21 

Europe (1) 

Africa (1)

Central America (10)

South America (9)

Here in this post I'm going through the most important periods of time considering the current Spanish speaking world.

The Middle Ages 1000-1492

1212 Fight of Tolosa, The Christian kingdoms take the Iberian Peninsula back from the muslim caliphates. Only the Emirate of Granada in southern Spain remains under moslem rule.
1230 Castile and Leon merge
1469 Aragonia and Castile merge, the modern Spain is born
1492 After 800 years the moslems are banished from the Iberian Peninsula after the conquer of Granada

The Colonization 1492-1778 

1492 Christopher Columbus starts the voyages to the Americas, Spain becomes the first superpower of the world.
1492 Columbus arrives at Cuba and the Dominican Republic
1493 Columbus arrives at Puerto Rico
1498 Columbus sails to the shores of Venezuela
1501 Rodrigo de Bastidas first European in Panama
1502 Columbus arrives at Honduras
1502 Columbus arrives at Costa Rica on his 4th voyage
1516 Juan Diaz de Solis sails to Uruguay
1516 Juan Diaz de Solis arrives at Argentina
1519 Cortes arrives at Mexico to the city of Tenochtitlan
1522 The Spanish arrive at Nicaragua after crossing the Panama Isthmus
1523 The Spanish arrive at Guatemala
1525 Pedro de Alvarado's troops establish the city of San Salvador in El Salvador
1525 The Spanish establish the first settlement in Colombia
1530s Francisco Pizarro conquers Bolivia which is part of the Inca Empire with Peru and Ecuador
1532 Francisco Pizarro conquers Cuzco in Peru
1533 Francisco Pizarro reclaims Ecuador to Spain
1537 The Spanish establish Asuncion in Paraguay
1541 Pedro de Valdivia reclaims Chile to Spain
1778 Spain gets Equatorial Guinea in an exchange of land from Portugal

The crucial moment that led Spain to become the world's first superpower was the unification of Aragonia and Castile when prince Ferdinand of Aragonia married princess Isabella of Castile. Isabella funded the voyage of Columbus who reclaimed large territories from Latin America to Spain. Another important thing is that after 800 years of moslem presence the Christians managed to banish the moslems completely out of the Iberian Peninsula on the same year when Columbus started his first voyage, 1492.

During the colonization most of the current countries were ruled together as big territories which were called Viceroyalties. Here are the different Viceroyalties and the current countries that were part of them.

Viceroyalty of New Spain 1520-1821

El Salvador
Costa Rica 
Puerto Rico
USA (Texas, Arizona, Utah, New Mexico, Colorado, California, Nevada, part of Wyoming)
Asia (Guam and Philippines)
+ other areas in different parts of the world

Viceroyalty of Peru 1542-1824
After 1717 and 1776 the Viceroyalty of Peru was sliced into smaller parts.

Costa Rica
Falkland Islands
French Guiana

Viceroyalty of New Granada 1717-1819

Trinidad and Tobago

Viceroyalty of the Rio de la Plata 1776-1814


The First Wave of losing colonies 1811-1828 

1700 The Spanish Habsburg's family dies away. Spain loses Belgium, parts of Italy to the Austrian Habsburgs, Sicily to the Savoi family and the British conquer Gibraltar. The Bourbon family rises in power.
1807 Napoleon attacks Spain and makes his brother Josef Bonaparte the king of Spain
1811 Paraguay becomes independent
1811 Venezuela becomes independent
1814 Napoleon gets defeated and the Bourbons return their power
1816 Argentina becomes independent
1818 Chile becomes independent
1819 Colombia becomes independent
1820 The city of Guayaquil in Ecuador becomes independent
1821 Mexico becomes independent
1821 The Dominican Republic becomes independent
1821 Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and El Salvador become independent unified as one state, the Federal Republic of Central America
1821 Peru declares independence but manages to defeat the Spanish in 1824 finally
1822 Ecuador becomes independent
1825 Bolivia becomes independent
1828 Uruguay becomes independent

First Spain lost areas in Europe because the Habsburg's bloodline didn't continue and the power shifted to the Bourbon family. Some other big families in Europe took advantage of the situation and conquered areas for themselves like Belgium, Sicily and Gibraltar.

Spain got weaker in 1807 when Napoleon attacked it. This gave an opportunity to the Spanish colonies to start the fight for freedom. Spain had weakened in the war against France and when Napoleon got defeated in 1814 it was already late, the freedom movements had become too strong in Latin America. So in 17 years Spain lost nearly all of its colonies.

When Latin America became independent it created three big empires at the same time which consisted many current countries. These were the Mexican Empire, the Federal Republic of Central America and Gran Colombia.

Mexican Empire 

1821 Mexico becomes independent and conquers Central America
1823 Mexico becomes a federation and Central America becomes independent
1846-1848 Mexico loses California, Nevada, Utah and Arizona

Federal Republic of Central America

1821 Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, El Salvador and Costa Rica become independent as the Federal Republic of Central America but Mexico occupies it
1823 Central America becomes independent
1838-1840 Civil War, the Federation collapses and all the countries in Central America become independent.
1903 Panama becomes independent with the aid of USA

Gran Colombia 

1819 Gran Colombia becomes independent. Colombia, Panama, Ecuador and Venezuela are all part of Gran Colombia.
1830 Gran Colombia collapses when Venezuela and Ecuador become independent, but Panama remains a part of Colombia.

The Second Wave of losing colonies

1898 Spain loses Puerto Rico, Cuba, Guam and the Philippines to USA, the rising super power of the world.
1968 Spain lets Equatorial Guinea become independent

After the 1898 Spanish-American War Spain lost the War and had to abandon Cuba, Puerto Rico, Guam and the Philippines to USA, The reason of the war was that Spain tried to prevent Cuba from being independent. When the American warship USS Maine sank at the harbor of Havanna the Spanish were blamed and the war was declared soon after that.


1492-1541 Spain colonizes nearly the whole Latin America
1520-1824 The Viceroyalties rule Latin America
1811-1828 Most of the Latin American countries become independent
1819-1830 Gran Colombia (Panama, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela)
1823-1840 Central American countries are unified as one state (Guatemala, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador, Costa Rica)
1898 Spanish-American War, Spain loses Puerto Rico, Cuba, Guam and the Philippines
1968 In Africa Equatorial Guinea becomes independent from Spain

Ei kommentteja:

Lähetä kommentti