Seuraa blogiani Bloglovinin avulla Follow

Total views on my most magnificent blog

maanantai 2. helmikuuta 2015

Ecuador, Cool Facts #5

4. Colombia <=                                                                                                               => 6. Peru 

1. Tupac Inca Yupanqui

Was the king who conquered Ecuador in 1463 and united the fragmented inca communities into the Inca empire. Quito became the second capital after Cuzco.

2. Election winner 5 times 

Jose Maria Velasco Ibarra was elected five times as the president and four times the soldiers overthrew him from power. Ibarra was elected in 1934, 1944, 1952, 1960 and 1968 as the president.

3. Lost areas 

Ecuador has lost a lot of areas to its neighbours. It lost areas to Colombia in 1832 and 1916, to Brazil in 1904 and to Peru in 1941. Ecuador had armed confrontations against the lost Amazon area with Peru in 1981 and 1995.

4. El Loco 

President Abdala Bucaram was elected in 1996 but his presidency ended already in 1997 when he was declared mentally unfit for presidential duties by the parliament. He called himself El Loco and he promised the government for the poor. He messed up the whole economy, performed as a rock star, cabaree dancer and did bungee jumps in batman outfit.

5. Ecuador's flag

The flag derives from Gran Colombia's flag. In the coat-of-arms there is the snow-covered volcano Chimborazo. Because of its location near the equator Chimborazo's peak is the farthest point from the center of earth. The Guayas steamboat sails in the foreground. Guayas was built in the Guayaquil shipyard and it was the first steamboat manufactured in Latin America. Then there's the sun of freedom inspired by the Argentinian flag and a condor representing independence.


1463 Tupac Yupanqui attaches Ecuador to the Inca empire
1533 Fransisco Pizarro declares Ecuador to the Spanish Crown
1820 Guayaquil becomes independent first
1822 Ecuador becomes part of Grand Colombia led by Bolivar
1830 Ecuador becomes independent from Grand Colombia
1928-48 None of the presidents finish their full presidency term
1988 First left-wing president Rodrigo Borja 

Ei kommentteja:

Lähetä kommentti